Planning & Zoning Commission


The Planning and Zoning Commission is an appointed body of the City Council of Fairburn. The Commission is charged with the responsibility of proposing plans, policies and programs addressing the physical development and planning of the city. The Commission acts in an advisory role also for a variety of zoning ordinance and land development manual procedures, but is the final review and decision-making authority on certain other amendment, plan, and variance matters.

The Commission consists of 7 members appointed by the City Council. The members of the commission are appointed for a period of 4 years and until a successor is appointed. The Chairman and Vice Chairman are elected by the members. The attendance of 4 members shall constitute a forum.


Elizabeth Echols
Shelby Phillips
Tony Smith
Elise Stoney
Mark Wade
Jerry Williams

**Commissioner Position Open**

Are you interested in serving your community? Do you have experience in real estate, engineering, architectural, land use planning, or land development? Or just have a heart to serve your community?

The City of Fairburn is currently recruiting for one vacancy on the Planning and Zoning Commission. This is a volunteer position [no salary] and applicants must be a Fairburn resident. The Planning and Zoning Commission meets on the first (1st) Tuesday of every month. Typical duties include: review and decide on variance petitions, review and decide on proposed development plans, review and make recommendations to the City Council on zoning amendments, subdivision plats, use permits and rezoning petitions.

Interested candidates may contact the Planning and Zoning Office at (770) 964-2244 for more information. 

Volunteer Application

All applications must be delivered to the Planning and Zoning Office at 26 West Campbellton Street. The position will remain open until filled.