City of Fairburn Government

The City of Fairburn operates as a Mayor/Council form government with a City Administrator. The Mayor and six Council members are part-time employees. A full-time city administrator serves at the pleasure of Mayor and Council and is responsible for carrying out their policy directives and managing the day-to-day operations of the City.

The Mayor and Council are elected by the entire City and serve “at large” rather than representing various districts. Each year at the first regularly scheduled meeting in January, the Council elects a Mayor Pro Tem from among its members. Fairburn’s Mayor Pro Tem assumes all duties and powers of the Mayor during the Mayor’s absence or disability.

Fairburn’s Mayor serves as the Chief Executive Officer of the City. The Mayor is the presiding officer at Council meetings and will vote only in the case of a tie between council members. The Mayor is also responsible for the efficient and orderly administration of City Affairs.

It is the responsibility of the Fairburn City Council to set policy for City operations, to set millage rates for property taxes, to approve budgets of the various departments, to pass ordinances, and to hear and act on requests for rezoning and annexation.


Mario Avery

City Administrator:

Tom Barber

City Clerk:

Brenda James

Fairburn City Hall

Fairburn City Hall

Council Members:

Lydia Glaize
Alex Heath
Elizabeth Hurst
Pat Pallend
Hattie Portis-Jones
James Whitmore

Click here to send an email to the Mayor and City Council
Click on the individual names above to send an email to that person

The Fairburn City Council meets the second & fourth Monday of the month at 7:00 PM
Planning & Zoning Commission meets the first Tuesday of each month at 7:00 PM

Click here for City Council Minutes and Agendas

Click here for Planning & Zoning Commission Minutes and Agendas

City of Fairburn Social Media Comment Policy