

PLANNING AND ZONING COMMISSION 48-HOUR ACTION SUMMARY

City Hall 56 Malone Street Fairburn, GA 30213 Tuesday, January 10, 2023 7:00 p.m.

Jason Jones, Chair Anthony Stewart, Vice-Chair Elizabeth Echols, LaVone Deavers Michelle James Tony Smith

Interim Planning Director: Rebecca Keefer Planning Director: Denise Brookins City Attorney: Valerie Ross

- 1. Call to Order: The meeting was called to order at 7:00 p.m. by Chairwoman Echols.
- 2. Determination of a Quorum: A quorum was determined, and the meeting proceeded.
- 3. Pledge of Allegiance
- 4. Election of Officers:
 - a. CHAIR Commissioner Smith made a motion to nominate Commissioner Jones for Chair. It was seconded by Commissioner Stewart. **THE MOTION CARRIED.**
 - b. VICE-CHAIR Commissioner Smith made a motion to nominate Anthony Stewart for Vice-Chair. It was seconded by Commissioner Echols. **THE MOTION CARRIED.**
- 5. Public Comments: None.
- 6. Approval of Meeting Minutes:
 - a. Commission James made a motion to approve the December 6, 2022, minutes. Commissioner Deavers seconded. **THE MOTION CARRIED.**
- 7. Public Hearing
 - a. Secondary Variance Fairburn Travel Center request for relief from the interpretation of the Planning and Zoning Director, as it relates to the definition of a "Truck Stop" in Section 80-478 of the City of Fairburn Code of Ordinances

Commission James made move to affirm the Planning and Zoning Director's decision on the interpretation of the definition of a "Truck Stop" in Section 80-478.

Commissioner Stewart seconded.

ROLL VOTE: Four voted to affirm the Planning and Zoning Director's decision, and one recused. **THE MOTION CARRIED.** Commissioner Smith recused from this vote.

- 8. Old Business None.
- 9. New Business. None.
- 10. Staff Report. None.
- 11. Commissioner Comments
- 12. Adjournment
 - a. Commissioner Smith motioned to adjourn. Commissioner Stewart seconded. THE MOTION CARRIED.